Awards (Delaware / Komoka / Mt Brydges Minor Baseball)


The Jacob DaPonte Memorial Trophy


In July 2000 Jacob DaPonte was in his 2nd year as a Mosquito baseball player when his life was taken from him in a tragic accident.  The Jacob DaPonte Memorial Trophy is dedicated to him, and is awarded each year to the Most Sportsmanlike Player in the Mosquito division.


Jacob will always be remembered for his big smile. When he came to a game or practice he listened well to his Coaches, and always tried his hardest.  He treated other players with respect.  His attitude was always positive. He never said a negative thing about anyone or the game, even if the team was losing.

Mr. & Mrs. DaPonte feel very honoured that the Delaware/Mt. Brydges Minor Baseball, along with the Delaware & Mt.Brydges Lioness clubs have created this award in Jacob's memory.


Jacob will always be an Angel on the DKMB Minor Baseball fields...

Award Winners:

Year Player Coaches Team
2022 Sawyer Moorcroft Jeremy Hogeveen 11U Select
2022 Foster Chang John Anthony 11U LL 2
2022 Ava Siegfried Dan Neaves 11U LL 1
2021 Beckett Stern Jeremy Hogeveen 11U Select
2021 Grayson Beardshaw Mike Suriano 11U LL 1
2020 Josiah VanderSchaaf Mosquito
2019 Alex Latif Ernie Latif Mosquito LL 1
2019 Tyler Douglas John Harding Mosquito LL 2
2019 Felix White Adam Kafka Mosquito LL 3
2019 Ryan Hooper Don Thody Mosquito Select
2018 Craig Kopal Ernie Latif Mosquito LL
2018 Jack Stafford Adam Kafka Mosquito LL
2018 Adam Bentley Stephanie Smith Mosquito LL
2017 Max Kakman Adam Stafford Mosquito LL 1
2017 Cooper Morrison Tracy Brownell Mosquito LL 2
2017 Will Stewart Andy Pope Mosquito LL 3
2017 Rory Wilkins Karen Watson Mosquito LL 4
2016 Brady Dawson Derek Raine Mosquito LL 3
2016 Evan Kopal Amanda Carruthers Mosquito LL 1
2016 Sam Stewart Karen Watson Mosquito LL 2
2015 Jordan McKellar Jamie Bond Major Mosquito Competitive 
2015 Zack Sibley Shayne Sibley Mosquito LL
2014 Tiaz Hayter Cory Goetz Mosquito LL 2
2014 Noel Kelly Jamie Bond Mosquito LL 1
2013 Cole Fowler  Steve Rumford, Brent Fowler Mosquito LL 
2012 Jake Wootton  Steve Rumford, Shayne Sibley Mosquito LL
2012 Stu Ireland  Scott Hubert, Darren Johnson Mosquito Select 
2011 Kyle Knight  Scott Hubert, Darren Johnson Mosquito LL 
2010 Ryan Kerr  Brad McGonigle Mosquito LL 
2009 Dan McGonigle  Brad McGonigle Mosquito LL 1 
2009 Reid Williams  Wayne Howie Mosquito LL 2 
2009 Derek Shaw  Marty Thody Major Mosquito Competitive 
2008 Preston Hill  Marty Thody Minor Mosquito Competitive 
2008 Kristen Robinson  Gerry Carr Mosquito LL 1 
2008 Josh Zwinkels  Wayne Howie Mosquito LL 2 
2007 Devin Empey  Ken Whittaker Mosquito Competitive 
2007 Jordan Hilliker  Gerry Carr Mosquito LL 
2006 Calvin Kelly  Ken Whittaker, Korey Richardson   
2005 Zach Zwinkels  Jeff Flesher, John Robinson   
2005 Sam Phillips  Rob Wuytenburg, Shayne Sibley   
2004 Michael Robinson  John Robinson   
2004 Mark Muehmer  Ryan Jones   
2003 Michael Prior  Willy Flegel, Derrick Prior   
2003 Cory Goetz  Larry Goetz/John Robinson   
2002 Spencer Williams  Doug Jowett, Kevin Kusch   
2002 Matthew Warren  Larry Goetz, Willy Flegel   
2001 Kyle Sterling  Pat Gubbels   
2000 Jacob DaPonte  Pat Gubbels  

2020 winner... Josiah VanderSchaaf


2018 winners... Craig Kopal, Jack Stafford and Adam Bentley


2013 winner... Cole Fowler


Pictured here (from left to right)...
DKMB President Marty Thody, Cole Fowler, and past winners Ryan Kerr, Dan McGonigle, Mike Robinson and Cory Goetz.